About the College
Current Position: HOME >> About the College

College Introduction

The College of Mechanical and Vehicle Engineering (CMVE) at Taiyuan University of Technology (TYUT) is composed of 7 departments, 1 institute and 2 experimental centers. It is originated from the College of Mechanical Engineering founded in 1998. The Institute of Mechatronics Engineering merged into the College of Mechanical Engineering in 2015. Some departments of the previous College of Mechanics at TYUT merged into the College of Mechanical Engineering in 2018 which was then renamed as CMVE.

CMVE currently has 275 teaching and administrative staffs, including 1 Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering, 1 National Famous Teacher, 1 National Model Worker, 41 professors, 85 associated professors, 29 PhD supervisors and 168 master supervisors. More than 4000 full-time students are studying at CMVE, including 3196 undergraduates, 784 master students and 99 PhD students.

CMVE provides four majors for the Bachelor's Degree, i.e. Mechanical Design & Manufacturing & Automation, Mechatronics Engineering, Vehicle Engineering, and Engineering Mechanics. It has National First-Class Undergraduate Major, National Characteristic Major, “Outstanding Engineer Education and Training Program” of Ministry of Education, Chinese-Foreign Cooperative Education Major of Ministry of Education, China Engineering Education Association Major, as well as Shanxi Provincial First-Class, Brand and Professional Majors. There are also 1 National Teaching Team who won the Second Prize of National Teaching Achievement, 2 National Experimental Teaching Demonstration Centers, 3 National Engineering Demonstration and Training Centers, 3 National Engineering Practice and Education Centers, 5 Postgraduate Innovation Centers of Shanxi Province, and 12 Undergraduate Innovation Bases of Shanxi Province. In addition, there are a number of Shanxi provincial teaching platforms and famous teachers. In regards to courses, there are 1 National Excellent Online Open Course, 1 National Superior Course, 1 National Excellent Resource Sharing Course, 1 National Excellent Video Open Course, and many Provincial Classical and Resource Sharing Courses.

CMVE possesses two first-level discipline doctoral degree programs and postdoctoral mobile research stations (Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics), and 10 second-level discipline doctoral programs (Mechatronics Engineering, Mechanical Design and Theory, Mechanical Manufacturing and Automation, Vehicle Engineering, Mining Machinery and Automation, Engineering Mechanics, Solid Mechanics, Fluid Mechanics, Dynamics and Control, and Fundamental Mechanics and Interdisciplinary Mechanics). CMVE has eight master degree programs, which are Mechatronics Engineering, Mechanical Manufacturing and Automation, Mechanical Design and Theory, Vehicle Engineering, Power Engineering and Engineering Thermal Physics, Solid Mechanics, Fluid Mechanics, and Dynamics and Control. Mechatronics Engineering, Mechanical Design and Theory, and Solid Mechanics are Key Disciplines of Shanxi Province. Mechanical Manufacturing and Automation, and Vehicle Engineering are Key Construction Disciplines of Shanxi Province.

CMVE has 1 National-Local Joint Engineering Laboratory, 1 Key Laboratory of Ministry of Education, 1 Engineering Research Center of Ministry of Education, 1 Provincial Collaborative Innovation Center, 4 Provincial Key Laboratories, 6 Provincial Engineering and Industrial Technical Centers, 1 Provincial International Science and Technology Cooperation Base, 1 Engineering Research Center of Ministry of Education, 1 Academician Workstation, 6 Provincial Science and Technology Innovation Teams, and 2 National Planning Textbooks. The college has been awarded 1 Silver Award of the Ninth Shangyin Outstanding Doctoral Thesis for Mechanical Engineering, and 2 National Virtual Simulation Experiment Projects. The discipline of Mechanical Engineering at TYUT was certificated as B+ (top 20%) in the Fourth Round National Discipline Evaluation released by the China Academic Degree and Graduate Education Development Center of Ministry of Education at the end of 2017.